Burnout


Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash.

It had been since October when I last posted. All of a sudden, silence. So what happened?!

I think I owe my readers an answer. This post’s title explains in one word.

I got burned out.

‘Not on writing or my related blogging activities. Between my day job, job searching and this little enterprise of mine, I made a choice.

Priorities had to come first. So I ditched blogging and drew back on my job search. I focused my energies on my day job. Advancing included protection.

I’m open about my anxiety and, at times, depression. These unproductive facets of my being must not contaminate what is productive. That was the real mitigation – sparing myself from their influence.

So when I began getting burned out toward the end of September, I recognized it. I also recognized that depression was seeping in. That was the threshold. That’s when I made the decision. Cut back.

What caused the burnout?

The truth is that I am unhappy in my current career path. I want to be doing other things – to the point of developing this blogging enterprise, side efforts at work, and side projects to develop experience and skills. My job search has gone nowhere and that frustration over time really got to me.

It’s a new year. The hard part of my work over the holidays is over. Now I can finally recalibrate. So I have.

I’m back to writing.

Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash.

I don’t have a full-fledged plan on how I want to alter what I had been doing. The blog will change, though. Some attributes I want going forward are decided.

  • Simplify.
  • Shorter entries.
  • More frequent.
  • Easier-going language.
  • Fluid writing (less intentional).

From there, the quote from Austin Kleon says it best:

It’s not that you have something to say. It’s that you find out what you have to say. [1]


[1] How Writing Online Made Me a Millionaire. Ali Abdaal | YouTube, 2021. http://www.youtube.com, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyVpRiqOvt4. Accessed 2 Jan 2023.


One response to “Burnout”

  1. Oh wow, I love that Austin Kleon quote. Anyway, the Hiatus Monster gets us all, so it’s perfectly fine to let go once in a while. But I’m glad that you’re back, and that you enjoy your writing journey this time!

    Like

Leave a comment